## **Appendix II**

## A Chronology of the Chief Imams of Kano from the Reign of Emir Sulaiman (1805-1819) to the Reign of Emir Alhaji (Dr) Ado Bayero (1963 to date)

S/No	Name of Imam	Emir under whom he served
1	Sulaiman (he served as Emir and	Sulaiman (he was the 1 <sup>st</sup> Emir)
	Imam)	
2	Mammam Zara	Dabo and Uthman Maje Ringim
3	Abdullahi	Uthman
4	Hamman Zara ( died at Sokoto)	Abdullahi ibn Dabo Maje Karofi
5	Abdulkadir	-do-
6	Sule Kwatakwalloji	-do-
7	Muhammad Sulaiman	-do-
8	Umaru Zara	Bello ibn Dabo
9	Dikko Zara later Alkali in Abbas reign	Bello / Tukur
10	Ismala	Alu
11	Ahmadu Abdulkadir	Alu
12	Atiku	Alu
13	Ahmadu( elder brother to Waziri	Alu?
	Gidado)	
14	Usman Umaru Zara	Uthman ibn Abdullahi
15	Sani	Bayero
16	Dalhatu	Sanusi/ Inuwa/Ado
17	Muhammad Dan Amu	Ado
18*	Alkali Idris Kuliya	-do-
19*	Isa Waziri	-do-
20*	Alkali Idris Kuliya	-do-
21*	Muhammad Sani Zahradeen	-do-

Source: 1-17 Zahradeen, M.S. (1992) "The Place of Mosque" op cit.

\* 18-21: Additional list provided by the researcher.